How to Disable Offload Unused Apps

0
10
Disabled-Offload-Unused-Apps-iPhone

Disable Offload Unused Apps: If you’ve thought that apps show a cloud icon next to the app’s name on your screen. Forcing you to install these apps over and over again. Then the explanation could be quite simple. However, with iOS 11, Apple launch a feature called Offload Unused Apps.

This feature intends to help save storage space by offloading apps you don’t use. You might have this feature allow on your iPhone or iPad and don’t even realize it. Here’s how to find and disable Offload Unused Apps.

What do Offload Unused Apps do?

As Christian explains in his guide about the feature:

As opposed to deleting or removing an app, which nukes it’s binary and data out of orbit. Offloading also ensures that app data, along with user settings and documents, remain on your device.

So if an app is offloaded and you reinstall it from the App Store (assuming it’s still available). However, the data will go right back where it was for you to use the app as you did before.

An offloaded app remains on your Home screen as well. However, it will have a cloud icon next to it. To reinstall it, just click the app icon.

How to Disable Offload Unused Apps

To prevent this from happening automatically, simply follow these steps to disable the feature.

Step 1:

Firstly, open your device Settings.

Step 2:

Choose the iTunes & App Store.

Step 3:

At the bottom of the next screen, turn off the toggle for Offload Unused Apps.

Once you disable this feature, you can just offload apps manually to save on storage space if you like and our guide shows you how easy it is.

Conclusion:

Does this sort out your mystery of the disappearing apps? If so, let us know in the comments section below. Also, if you decide to disable the feature but offload apps manually, do you think you’ll also reinstall those apps?

Also Read:

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here